ALOA Certifications:

As an internationally recognized trade association, the Associated Locksmiths of America, Inc. (ALOA) and distinguished professionalism and proficiency among locksmiths and safe technicians by granting these designations:

  • Registered Locksmith (RL)
  • Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)
  • Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL)
  • Certified Master Locksmith (CML)
  • Safe Technician Designations: Certified Professional SafeTech (CPS) and Certified Master SafeTech (CMST).
  • Certified Automotive Locksmith (CAL)

Available to all locksmiths and safe technicians, the Proficiency Registration Program (PRP) and the Safe Technicians Proficiency Registration Program (STPRP) evaluates, through participation tracking and testing, the educational and technical competence of dedicated individuals in a wide range of subjects including; Automotive locksmithing; General locksmithing; Specialty locksmithing; Electronic Access Control; and Safe and Vault service.


Certified Automotive Locksmith (CAL)

The designation for Certified Automotive Locksmith is CAL. An Individual who is a CAL has passed the exam for Certified Automotive Locksmith and has a good working knowledge of all aspects of automotive locksmithing.


Registered Locksmith (RL)

The designation for Registered Locksmith is – RL.  An Individual who is an RL was “grand fathered” into the program at it’s inception in 1985/6 (this grandfather program is no longer available); or is an active locksmith who has received twelve ALOA Education Units (AEU) by completing twelve ALOA Continuing Education (ACE) Classes consisting of eight hours each; or has completed the ALOA Five or Six-Day Basic Locksmithing course and passed the exam at the end of the course.

Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)

The first level of locksmith certification is Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL). A Certified Registered Locksmith has passed the ten mandatory categories, as well as at least two specialized electives of his choice. A CRL has a good working knowledge of general locksmithing.

Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL)

The second level of locksmith certification is Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL). A Certified Professional Locksmith has earned the CRL designation and has successfully in an additional twelve elective categories. A CPL has an advanced knowledge of general locksmithing and of many specialized areas.

Certified Master Locksmith (CML)

The highest level of locksmith certification is Certified Master Locksmith (CML). A Certified Master Locksmith has reached the highest level of ALOA’s Proficiency Registration Program and has successfully demonstrated proficiency in ninety percent of the available categories of the Proficiency Registration Program. A CML has advanced knowledge of most areas of locksmithing and electronic security.

ALOA Registered Locksmith (ARL)

Any ALOA member performing as a security professional who has completed the 90 day probationary period which include a background check is eligible for the ARL. This is not a certification.